Sign in to follow this  
Wolf Tracker

Choices

I have been lurking around this forum for quite a while and now I have a few questions that I couldn't find answers for through a search. I have been doing leatherwork for about 2 years . Mainly western style holsters and gunbelts with an occasional modern holster and rifle sling also. I am also about to try making some chaps. After hand sewing three gunbelts and a couple lined slings I am ready to try my hand at a machine. I have found someone who is selling two machines about twenty minutes from my house. One is a Singer 111w155 with a clutch motor, table, thread stand, and light for $625. The other is a Consew 225 with clutch motor and table for $725. The Consew according to the add has had $200 dollars of professional repairs, parts replaced and cleaning in Feb of this year. From the picture it looks to be in better aesthetic shape than the Singer. My questions are:

1. I understand that they are almost identical machines but is one better than the other?

2. Since I work mostly with veg-tan will either mark the backside of the leather?

3. I've read that these will sew up to 3/8. Most of my work is about 8 to 16 ounces of sandwiched leather. Will this be a struggle for the machines or will it work OK? Will this work for chaps that will probably be in the 6 oz range? I have read that changing to a servo motor and reducer will help and that is probably the route I would take if it that is the case.

4. Are these good prices? The add says that they will consider all offers. What is a fair price on these?

5. What should I look for when I go to see these machines in person?

Thanks in advance for any info.

Rich

Edited by Wolf Tracker

Your objective is to make holsters and belts. Right? I have a great 111w155 that I paid $325 for the machine, table, and motor. I have no idea what they are worth. that's MY COST.!

Its not for holsters.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!