phogadelphia

Wc Carving Leather Question

Hi Everyone -

So I worked for this company using Horween veg-tanned leather (HF, Essex, Dublin) + I wanted to start exploring leather working on my own time.

I purchased a side of Tooling/Carving Leather from WC, since I've read that this type of leather is used a lot for belts/handles and that's what I'm looking to make.

When I got the leather, I was surprised by how rigid it is. When you knock on it, it sounds like you're knocking on cardboard. And since I'm new to carving leather, I wanted to ask if this is what its supposed to be like when you get it straight from the tannery?

I've never used W&C (I'm a Hermann Oak guy), but what weight did you get? It's more likely to get those results on the heavier weights, but I still wouldn't call it acceptable unless I purchased something that was labeled "economy" or "craftsman". If it's something like that, then you're usually told that it's not the top grade and should expect situations like this. But, like I said, the heavier leathers are quite rigid and make that sound anyway ( 7 oz and up). Is it easy to cut with a sharp knife? Does it sound crispy at all while you're cutting? How's it retain water?

I recently got a "Craftsman" side myself and basically got a really dry side that's HARD to cut and doesn't maintain moisture that well for tooling. Had I purchased something other then the "hit and miss" grade I would have shipped it back for something else, but since I new it was a chance, I've just designated that side for emergencies and pieces that require little-to-no tooling.

You didn't mention which grade you ordered, but the "special" grade from WC - their lowest grade of tooling leather - is pretty stiff and almost brittle in some cases, not to mention full of anomalies you have to cut around. I've had a few of them, and putting it plainly, they're just not that great.