Hello everyone, I've been working with leather for about a week and half now. This is the fourth and fifth holster I've made and the first I feel comfortable sharing. The first was a complete disaster, the second was too small, the third was about the same as the two posted, but I didn't get a pic before giving it to my friend for his gun. So please let me know what you think and any pointers to make them better. They are both hand cut, hand sewn, hand everything. Any advice to get better is always appreciated.

This is my fourth holster. I know I need to work on my cuts to make it flow better, and the resolene got a little bubbly.

sccyholster.jpg

This is my fifth holster, I used Ox Blood with reducer, was hoping for a more pink color, but she likes the color it came out. The coloring looks better in person. I free handed the dragonfly, not a big accomplishment, but its my first attempt at carving anything into the leather. This one was made to fit in a purse, so the shape is made to the compartment on the purse, but I know its a bit off. I really need to work on making straighter cuts.

dragonfly3.jpg

dragonfly2.jpg

Well thanks for looking and for offering any advice!

Edited by sofljoe

Your stitch line is way to far away from the gun. t will lossen up, the gun fall out, accidentally discharge when it hits the floor, shoot a puppy that is nearby, get you featured in the news as a puppy hater. Easier to tighten up the stitching.

Ok, gonna work on that, I love puppies :) My stitching was too close on the previous attempts and I guess I overcompensated for that. Thanks for the info, time to start another and see if I can get the stitching closer.

I second stitching much closer to the gun. You can stretch the leather a little when you wet form it (if you stitch a little too close again). Consider stitching around the belt loop holes.

As mentioned, . . . stitch lines leave too much space away from weapon.