Hello all. To begin I now have 6 days of leather tooling experience under my belt. Critiques will be greatly appreciated. After getting a feel for the tools that came with a kit I recently purchased, I tooled the bill fold pictured below. I began by trying to follow; the pattern's instructions and quickly became frustrated with trying to match the picture so; I put it to the side and went with my gut. From what I see areas needing improvement are as follows:

• Track marks in beveling: Learn to walk the beveller
  • Jagged knife cuts: Practice making smoother cuts
  • Stamping outside of the lines: Practice and be more attentive

What do y'all think about areas needing improvement?

Thanks,

Jeff

post-38112-0-08143300-1358278771_thumb.j

I am no pro but one good tip I can give is that when you use the swivel knife don't let your cuts touch each other, if that makes sense. When coming to any edge like a corner, cut the line to the tip and then bring your knife up to just shy of that cut. I hope that helped a bit, I am pretty bad at describing things. When I learned this trick it worked wonders for my tooling.

Pretty good for 6 days! You already know what you need to work on, so the next step is more practise. And when you think you have practised enough, do more practise.

Tom

Welcome aboard Jeff... I'm at about the same stage of learning as you are... Looks good, All I can give is the same advice I have been given...Practice!

I gotta give you some credit -- my first project went in the trash before anyone got to see it :) (and the second).

But, that leather looks pretty rough, and probably accounts for some of the 'drag' with the knife. A good firm piece of cow will likely cure that in a hurry. Ordinarily, I'd say it looks like it was tooled too wet, but with that chunk it's hard to say.

That said, here's a couple simple things that will likely git ya runin in a hurry.