Danomite

Appropriate Sewing Machine For Watch Straps

Hi Everyone,

I'm just getting into this, and obviously the choices for sewing machines are a little overwhelming. I've tried using my Mother's sewing machine at one point but it struggled, so I figured I would need to step up and get something a little more powerful. I've read many of the threads on here about different sewing machines. It seemed like most of the questions are geared towards which machines are best for going bigger, but not many mention machines that are better for the smaller projects. It would seem to my relatively uneducated view, that a machine that can sew 3/4" of leather might not sew 1/8" leather as well. The consew 206rb5 is mentioned a lot as a good machine, as is the Cobra brand.

Could anyone give me some insight on what I should be looking for? Is the consew 206rb5 a good choice for smaller projects? What about the Cobra series, or any others?

Thanks in advance,

Dan

I use either my walking foot machine, or my Singer 31-15 to sew watch bands. Both have optional presser feet that have edge guides on the right side. I choose the edge guide that places the stitch line very close to the edge and sew around the bands.

Normally, I use #69 bonded thread, through a #16 leather point needle, for such thin work close to edges.

A Consew 206RB-5 is a very good walking foot machine, suitable for your work.

Edited by Wizcrafts

The consew 206rb5 or any other flatbed walking foot machine would be suitable. Other options include: Techsew 106, Cobra class 18, Pfaff 1245, Adler 267 etc..

I use either a 31-15 or my 16-88 depending witch one is set up for small stuff at the time. The 31-15 lets me get a little closer to the buckles etc.