Sign in to follow this  
Nod4Eight

New To The Board

Hello all. I'm new to this site, I stumbled upon it while looking for something (can't remember what exactly) and I gotta say I'm glad I did. It appears to be a fantastic resource!

I've been working with leather for several years now, starting out repairing tack and the like. Two years ago I started making chinks and selling to friends and local tack shops, made a few sets of buckin rolls and a set of cuffs for a buddy of mine. Well - this winter I decided to try braiding. I got BGs encyclopedia and started working on it. I had visions of many late winter nights, braiding up a storm making bosals, reatas, maybe a couple of hobbles. What I found out is that it's a little more difficult than it appears - and I now have a whole new vocabulary of made up swear words! :censored2:

I have been cutting my own strings out of scrap rawhide I get from local Tandy, but am currently working on making my own from the hide I saved from a steer. Also have been doing a lot of practice with plastic lace to get the THs and such down.

Also - quick question - has anyone worked with rawhide made from goat hide? I recently found a source to get my hands on a few per week.

So far I have seen some great work on here, I hope to be able to contribute and of course learn a lot!

welcome to lw.net yes this is a fantastic resource and the folks on here are always helpful and willing to share their knowledge.

i bought some goat a few months ago....its ok, thin and stretches more than cow i think but good for knots and stuff...works well for fidwork projects.

welcome to lw.net yes this is a fantastic resource and the folks on here are always helpful and willing to share their knowledge.

i bought some goat a few months ago....its ok, thin and stretches more than cow i think but good for knots and stuff...works well for fidwork projects.

Thanks roo.