almac

Leathercrafters Ultimate Workshop. Is It Worth It?

i am absolutely facinated with leather.

even more facinated with the work that you guys show online!:You_Rock_Emoticon:

i am a complete newb when it comes to crafting leather, and am looking at dropping a few bucks on tools, etc.

i am currently interested in making belts, pouches, book covers, holsters, and bags.

my question is the Tandy Ultimate workshop kit actually worth it?

http://www.tandyleat...e/55512-01.aspx

or would it be better(and cheaper) to find the tools elsewhere, or seperately, or possibly any substitutions?

what do you guys recommend as a starting kit?

i suspect that my first project will be a bag to hold all my leatherwork tools...:yes:

i suspect that when i get into this, i will spend a fair amount on tools in the near future...

:whatdoyouthink:

thank you for the input my friends!:)

Hi and Welcome:-)

First I would sit down and think about what kind of carving I want to do in general. The kit is a good start for flower carvings but there is places to get the tools to a better price. Ebay is one and why not try these guys out, I'm happy with them:

http://stleather.com/

I'm not big on the Tandy kits or even buying all your tools at once. Get a good basic set of stamping tools from Lonnie, not a whole bunch of tools (only 16), but you can do a lot with them. You will need a good maul, and the Bear Man makes a good one as does Barry King. Use utility knives and maybe a clicker knife to start. Get edgers from Ron Edmonds, Bob Beard (a year's wait), Barry King, or Bob Douglas. Hole punches you can get used from Proleptic or Bob Douglas, or Mandy or Luke at Sheridan Outfitters.

Buy as you need, I have every edger Ron makes, I mostly use two or three.