Riplikash

Please Help Me With My First Project Plan

Hello all,

First post and first project. I have been studiously gathering information and creating a plan to start my first leather-working project. I'm going with a couple of simple dress belts to keep things simple.

I was hoping to run my plan by some people with more experience in the area than I before I make my first set of purchases. So if anyone could help me fill in a few holes and critique my plan, I would appreciate it.

Some background: I'm a fair hand at several crafts so I have a decent set of tools already. But this is my first attempt at leather working. My #1 goal is usually to make things look professional, not home-made. So, that being said:

1. I was planning on using the belt blanks from Tandy, though I see Springfield has blanks too, so that is an option. On a related note, would it be better to go through Springfield, Tandy, some other company, or just grab stuff piecemeal from Amazon?

Is there anything I should be pre-treating the leather with to achieve an even stain?

2. Cut the belt to size (probably with xacto knives for now), and punch belt holes with rotary punch

3. Bevel edges using hand beveling tool. I am worried that perhaps the tools don't come pre-sharpened. Anyone know if that is the case? Also, I've seen some tutorials say to sand the edges BEFORE beveling. What exactly would that accomplish?

I'm also a bit confused on beveler sizes. Tandy at least has several. A suggestion about what size to use for a belt would be appreciated.

A few tutorials also suggest wetting and working leather soap into the edge at this point? Important step?

4. Burnish edge with plastic edge slicker (the one Tandy leather sells). I've also seen a wooden burnishing tool with multiple sizes. Would that be a better idea to get?