I'm so glad that this forum seems so tolerant of the newbies. And I am a newbie on the board and at leathercrafting.

I have noticed that a lot of the patterns I get, and in books, recommend particular tools for tooling the leather. I have gotten a pretty good collection of tools thanks to Tandy and Ebay. However, I am unable to read the numbers on the tools. I think it is a contrast issue, because I even have trouble reading them with a magnifying glass. Last night I tried dabbing some black acyrilic paint on the numbers, letting it dry and rubbing it off. See if it stayed in the impressions on the tool stem. It did not.

Anything I can use to make the numbers stand out?

I'm so glad that this forum seems so tolerant of the newbies. And I am a newbie on the board and at leathercrafting.

I have noticed that a lot of the patterns I get, and in books, recommend particular tools for tooling the leather. I have gotten a pretty good collection of tools thanks to Tandy and Ebay. However, I am unable to read the numbers on the tools. I think it is a contrast issue, because I even have trouble reading them with a magnifying glass. Last night I tried dabbing some black acyrilic paint on the numbers, letting it dry and rubbing it off. See if it stayed in the impressions on the tool stem. It did not.

Anything I can use to make the numbers stand out?

It was recommended to me many years ago to use model paint. That's the enamel paint found in most hobby stores. Let it dry several hours and it will help identify your tools. Some people use different colors for different tools: i.e. red for seedersl, yellow for bevelers, etc. Hope this helps, but the enamel is the way to go as the acyrilic rubs off over time. So does the enamel, but not as quickly.

try a permanent marker or nail polish? You might have to try and rough up the end. Or wait until you don't have to count on the actual # but style of tool.

Good luck