Sign in to follow this  
TexasGeezer

wet formed holster for my Kel-Tec P3AT.

Based on what I learned reading this forum and several others, I tried my hand at making a wet formed holster for my Kel-Tec P3AT.

A lot left to learn, so any comments would be appreciated.

DSC06859.jpg

I think you did a great job.

thats not your first atempt at making a holster is it? because it looks dam good to me nice straight stitching and nicely formed for hand molding great job there well done, Don

Thank you for the kind words.

Yes, it is my first attempt at making a holster, or any other leatherworking project, for that matter.

I'm reasonably satisfied with the outcome - learned a lot and will probably try to make a better version and some holsters for some of my larger pistols in the near future.

Thanks to all the forum members for all the great advice posted here.

TexasGeezer

I am also new to this forum and am amazed at your outcome. Where did you find out about the process/ formula?

Mainly by reading a lot of postings on this and other leather working forums.

This post is a good place to start, but there is good information in a lot of individual postings by various people. Just read everything that you can find about the type of project you want to start with, then press on with confidence! :biggrin:

I learn most new skills by simply deciding that I want to accomplish something. I know that either someone else has done it before and I'm just as capable as they are, just not as experienced --- yet, or knowing that I will somehow figure out the individual steps when I need to - and it all works out in the end.

My first step in the "learning something new process" is browsing the Internet to learn how to do it and seeing how someone else may have already solved a particular part of the project.

If I try something new and it does not work out perfectly, that's not failure, it's learning. I'll be better next time!