badger

Creasing

First off, please forgive my ignorance....self taught.

I've never creased with a hot crease. I've cased the leather and worked the crease in with a cold tool. It gives OK results but not as crisp and clean, or deep, as I'd like.

I'm a fan of creasing as I think compressing the leather at the edge is better than removing it with a groover or race. Just my opinion. I know different people have different ideas about this.

How do I go about creasing with a hot tool? Also, is there a special crease I should get or will the tools I have be OK? They're standard leatherworking tools. I have a Dixon screw crease I like.

How do I go about hot creasing and what do I need to watch out for.

Many thanks as always,

Karl

I'm not sure what a dixon "screw creaser" looks like, but I just use a small propane torch to heat my push bevelers. Heating maybe a bad word. Actually, just a little more than "warm to the touch" is how hot I make it. I've seen videos on you tube of Italian box makers that have some sort of hot plate they put their burnishing iron tools on, warm the tool, then apply.

Too hot, and it burns the leather, which is what you don't want. Just right, and you have a good looking, more permanent crease. I'm not sure, but I think it's a dying part of the trade. I seldom see anyone do it anymore. Too bad production is more important now.

I crease just about everything I make; I think it gives a more 'classic' look to the finished product. I have three adjustable creasers (all Dixon) that I use regularly. One has a fairly broad squared-off creasing edge that I use hot, but only on bridle leathers. Another has a narrower squared-off edge that I use cold on cased tooling leathers, and the third has a rounded V-shaped edge, which I also use cold on cased tooling leathers.

I guess it's one of those questions where ten people would give fifteen different methods of working!