Sign in to follow this  
Sjm1027

making leather bags

I have been poking around this great Web Site for a while and noticed I do not see much in the making of leather bags.

I am not in this for business but for a hobby. I am somewhat new at the leather craft and have to thank many of you for answering the many questions I have had since I started. I have done a lot of tooling, getting pretty good at it... and made some small cases, book marks and just playing with leather to get the feel of molding and sewing... I believe I am ready to start a project I am really excited about.

I have always loved the look of a leather back pack or a leather toiletry bag. I also always have a need to bring some kind of a bag to put all my small stuff in for the day. I work 41 miles away from home so there is no going back once I get there so I tend to bring more than I need for the day.

I usually take a backpack and sometimes it seems to be overkill. I would like to make a nice middle size bag with a handle like the following:

http://www.llbean.com/cd-15/51632/4525.shtml

I use this bag and it is really nice but I want to customize it, making it about 5 x 3 inches larger add more pockets... and so on.

My question is, how does one figure out how this bag is built? Is there a book that I can get or are there patters out there? I would really love to know how to figure this out so I can start designing my own bag and eventually make it.

Next question is leather, what ounce leather would one use for this bag? I would imagine the zippers would have to be a certain type or strength matching to the leather? Are zippers to difficult to do?

Do most people had sew these or do it by machine?

Well I could go on for ever :blahblahblah: But am really excited to start this project... at least the planning phase... I would really be interested to hear from you all about the difficulty with bags in general.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Edited by Sjm1027