Hannah Kinsey

Help Choosing Sewing Machine

Hi, i could really use some advice.

Ive read the other posts of people asking about machines so im sorry to repeat this....

I need an industrail walking foot machine to sew soft leather- i was trying to sew it on my domestic which it didnt like at all. What I've been looking at so far is Mach machines from Leightons, Alberta (I live in Revelstoke B.C.) a Juki LU 563 and Techsew machines. Im not familiar with Mach or Techsew.

I'm fairly new to sewing leather and have been hand stitching the heavier stuff, but i want to make leather bags and purses with fabric lining.

The compound walking foot from Techsew looks pretty good? but do i need to spend that much money?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thank you,

Hannah

i spent just under $800 got an extremely well maintained and used Consew 226r-2.. I build mainly belts, spur straps and some chaps, chinks etc. I've sewed up to 15oz weight leather with it. So you can find less expensive machines that will meet your needs but you will need to look around and really pay attention to do so. Out of the machine brands you mention though I'd go with the Juki or the Techsew just personal preference

I have the Techsew 2700. Good machine, had it dropped at the curb, unpacked it and brought it, assembled and ready to go in a couple hours.

Tom

Depending on the bags you make you may want to look at cylinder arm machines, they make sewing gusseted bags easier. I have an old Singer 153w101 cylinder arm machine, basically a Techsew 2700 but mine has no reverse. I'm into mine for about $800 usd after putting a new servo motor on it. I also made a flatbed for it that is very handy when sewing flat panels. Once you sew on a compound feed machine you'll be hooked.

Just my .02

Good luck

Jeremy

Thanks for the advice!

I think I'm leaning towards a Techsew machine.