kabocky

about restoring this saddle

I recently started riding and am trying to get equipment together as economicaly as I can. I've got a saddle that needs some work and would like to do it on my own if possible

Six years ago I was given this english saddle in what appeared to be fine condition. We thought it was worthless because it didn't have any straps... oops, I now know that this is the most expensive part of the whole works. Since getting it, it was used as a toy on a barel outside and left there in the sun and rain for about three months or more, then was placed in a shed and left there until now.

Overview of the Saddle:

saddle___right.jpg right side

saddle___right_under.jpg under the right side

saddle___right_side_scuff.jpg close up of the big scuff on the right side flap

saddle___left.jpg left side

saddle___left_under.jpg under the left side

saddle___left_under_close.jpg close up under the left side

saddle___under.jpg underneath

Problem Areas:

saddle___cantle.jpg the cantle is scuffed pretty bad

saddle___piping.jpg this piping between the seat and the skirt seems to be made of a plastic and on one side it's chipping like this, where the piping is gone there is a fabric mesh showing through.

saddle___trouble.jpg the knee roll used to be smooth and a darker colour now it's dry and ripples a little.

saddle___trouble1.jpg close up of the knee roll

My Questions:

1: From reading posts I understand how to clean and finish the leather, but is it necessary to take the saddle apart here, or can I clean it as is?

2: I'm not sure how to go about getting moisture back into the knee roll.

3: is the chipped plastic piping cosmetic or a bigger issue?

4: is there a way to minimize the appearance of the scuffs on the side flap and cantle?

:whatdoyouthink:

post-11179-1248189932_thumb.jpg

post-11179-1248189946_thumb.jpg

post-11179-1248189957_thumb.jpg

post-11179-1248189964_thumb.jpg

post-11179-1248189976_thumb.jpg

post-11179-1248190297_thumb.jpg