costumeclaire

Boiled Leather

I have been boiling leather for a few years now, I make everything from jewelry to vessels. don't see many others doing this but would be curious what others come up with.post-37601-0-71862700-1398546211_thumb.jpost-37601-0-38622800-1398545690_thumb.jpost-37601-0-26658400-1398545705_thumb.jpost-37601-0-89217100-1398546179_thumb.jpost-37601-0-01330600-1398546198_thumb.jpost-37601-0-71862700-1398546211_thumb.jpost-37601-0-26973800-1398546232_thumb.jpost-37601-0-69039900-1398546247_thumb.jpost-37601-0-37396000-1398546263_thumb.j

Edited by costumeclaire

Very aesthetic and artful pieces!

I found boiling leather rarely mentioned on leatherworker.net.

Which qualities do you aim at by the boiling process?

My guess would be pliability first and stiffness after drying.

I was experimenting once with embrowning a belt in coffee. Being who I am, I rushed it and dunked the piece in a brew that apparently was way too hot. The stain was OK but the leather broke when I flexed it. Since then boilophobia adds to acrophobia, claustrophobia, agoraphobia and the like ;).

Nice work and it is certainly original.

Lederrudi, use the term cuir bouilli when you search this site. It is what the process of boiling leather is called. There are lots of interesting things here that people have made using this process. It ranges from small items all the way up to full armor sets.

'ReneeCanady, thank you for pointing me to the magic word "cuir bouilli" which grants me access to an Aladin's cave of new Information!

LOL No problem! I went through the same thing when I was researching armor. Finally I stumbled by that name.