Jarednem

Heavy Duty Elastic Strap?

I work in the oil and gas industry and I make tally book covers that include an elastic strap. Over time the elastic gets worn out and starts sagging, I know that the kind I use probably isn't the highest quality.

Does anyone know where to get and what type is the most heavy duty/ durable/ high quality elastic strap?

Edited by Jarednem

Ive never used theirs, but it is heavy duty http://www.strapworks.com/Elastic_p/e.htm

Bear in the stretch is from rubber, so over time it will still lose its memory, be it from age or climate, some more than others of course.

When you are making things that have what I term expendable parts, you need to design it so that parts that can wear out can be easily replaced.

Chuck

Thank you Chuck for the advise! I will strongly consider a replaceable strap. Back the drawing board!

We use heavy duty elastic web for saddlery, it's heavy enough for horses (used on elasticated girths and brushing boots)

Would that be any good?

Here:

heavydutyelastic_zps1a8a1ff7.jpg[/url]

Oz

I work in the oil and gas industry and I make tally book covers that include an elastic strap. Over time the elastic gets worn out and starts sagging, I know that the kind I use probably isn't the highest quality.

Does anyone know where to get and what type is the most heavy duty/ durable/ high quality elastic strap

Oil and Gas Industry ?? Hmmmm, you do realize that odor you smell there is due to the presence of hydrcarbons in the air around you? And those same molecules in the air will also degrade normal elastics in time? I should think that you would want to use a neoprene elastic, or another type that is oil-resistant, just as the soles of your boots are.