ponygirl

Best all-around gullet width and bar angle for QH rig

Hi all! I am just getting into leather working, but this looked like a good place to post a saddle fit question. I am having a ranch cutter made that i'll use to start and ride many different horses, so it's impossible for me to use Dennis Lane or another system to build the saddle for a horse or two. I'll generally ride horses that are fit, not too fat. Right now I've got a wade on a 90 degree bar with a 6 1/4 gullet that fits many horses nicely. However I'm thinking of going with a 6 1/2 gullet on a 91 degree bar for this new rig, so that it can fit a few horses that I might squeeze in the wade.

For those more experienced than I, What gullet widths and degree on the bars have you found to work best with a wide variety of QH built horses? I'd like somehthing I can get maximum use out of, using a thin blanket for the thicker built colts and a 1" pad on the thinner built ones. Let me know whatcha think! Thanks much :)

Not to confuse you, but a wade's fork slope foreward and at 90 deg. it will be wider than and 91 deg. upright fork of a cutter. Also just by altering the profile of the bars, one can change the so called gullet with- when in fact it did not change the trees fit at all. I would suggest finding a tree maker who really can help you with a tree based on a total different way of measuring for a tree than just by gullet width and fork angle allone.

Ps. There is almost no difference between 90 and 91 deg. on a saddle tree

J-Man

Welcome to our little corner of the world.