retiredff

Vintage Vs Slc Tools

I'm just starting out and buying a few tools, some like the granite block and cutting board I had along with knives, rulers etc. Since I've been looking on ebay, they are selling "vintage" tools (stamps) for almost double what I can buy them at SLC. Are the old tools that much better? If so in what way? I doubt if I will turn this new hobby into a production shop, just a hobby or slightly beyond a hobby. I also noticed, not everything on ebay that is "new" is the best price. Some people have outbid me for old tools that are 3-4 times SLC price...

Tony

Yes, they're that much better. I believe the vintage tools were all made by hand. I have a modern Tandy B701 and I could not bevel without leaving tool marks. So I'd have to go back and forth over the cut to get rid of them. I got a vintage B701 and the first thing I noticed was that the front of the toe was square, not rounded like on the modern Tandy tool. The second thing I noticed was that it didn't leave tool marks.

Also getting a vintage A104 helped my backgrounding quite a bit (same deal with the tool marks).

Those are the two I would suggest getting if you get any vintage tools.

Glen

I have the vintage 701. I bought some tools on ebay that were owned by his grandfather who died in '87. Most of the tools are vintage. I'll buy as many vintage as I can find.

Within reason :)

Thanks for the reply.

Edited by retiredff

Personally, I'd be wary of buying used tools off ebay if I was just starting out (or even now, for that matter). You never know how they were used or cared for. Instead, I would start right off with Barry King tools. You can't go wrong with BK tools. They are all stellar IMO and in the long run priced effectively (especially if you skip the usual step of buying a bunch of junk new Tandy tools or gambling on ebay. You won't have to buy "twice" that way.

Thanks,

Michelle