Hi All!

I have been doing leathercrafting for about 2 years now. I mainly do figure carving and pictorals, though not that well yet.

I have somewhat of a dilema. I live in an urban apartment house. The noise travels very well in this particular building. There are sometimes that I like to work late (I am a night owl). How can I deafen the sounds I make? Especially installing hardware like rivits and such? I have the rubber matting underneath my granite; along with a thick towel.

I do not have carpeting in the room I work and I have a paper thin door coming into my apartment. I was thinking of sound proofing blankets, but was hoping that you could provide some other ideas. Thanks!

Reminds me of when we were in an apt: the laundry room was below our unit, and a neighbor came up from there all concerned when he heard me pounding. He thought I was in trouble!

Anyhow, you're doing what I was not at the time, which is using granite/marble with poundo board (rubber) under it. I've found that helped me. I don't really have any other suggestions - hoping someone else does.

Reminds me of when we were in an apt: the laundry room was below our unit, and a neighbor came up from there all concerned when he heard me pounding. He thought I was in trouble!

Anyhow, you're doing what I was not at the time, which is using granite/marble with poundo board (rubber) under it. I've found that helped me. I don't really have any other suggestions - hoping someone else does.

Thanks, Wildrose. That is a funny story. Wish my neighbor was a polite as yours.

The poundo board does help, along with the towel. What doesn't help, is the table I work at is on a wood floor. We are in a third floor apartment, and it would be considered the attic. Every sound travels.

Seems like a lot of people viewed my post, but you were the only one kind enough to respond. I think I am going to try the sound proofing blanket idea. Cheaper than carpet, and I can take it with me when I move.