Pinsplitter

Sewing Machine For Golf Bag

hiii there, found you all.

complete and utter newbie here but i have seen cows in a paddock.

so if i wanted to attempt to make a leather golf bag,

what type of machine would be best.

my first day's research seems to say a walking foot barrel/cylinder arm thing would be best.

a flat on bench machine would make some of the stitching difficult to do i think.

i am Australian BTW but in Thailand for 2 months, i don't know much about what's available in these countries.

mainly , if i did buy a machine i don't want to make a mistake buying something that won't really do the job.

Thanks in advance.

Hi, To help you I need to know the answers to this questions; do you want to produce golf bags for sale or make one for your self? Material size/weight and seams in construction?

Trox

Golf bags are usually sewn on Puritan chain stitch machines, with 36 inch high posts. The mechanism is needle and awl. The thread is usually linen and run through liquid wax, but bonded polyester will do fine. Puritan machines are made and sold in the USA..

If a Puritan is not in your budget, a long arm, big bobbin, Adler 30-70 patcher will do.

It is also possible to sew golf bags on a 441 clone, like a Cowboy or Cobra. You would want at least a 16.5 inch arm, but the 25 inch arm would make it easier to sew along the center of the bag. The length would have to be sewn together, wrong sides out, then inverted to have the bottom plug sewn on with a French seam.

I just read on the Puritan website that they make chainstitch cylinder arm machines that sew up the arm! The longest so far is a 36" arm!

hii

thanks for replies.

i would like to make them for resale - a small (very small) business.

but also make them well and looking classy.

I have been looking for a craftsman or small factory here in Thailand to do them for me,