Sign in to follow this  
cleveland

Molding Plastic- "blue Guns" For Holster Making

I am looking into a way to make my own "blue guns" for holster making. It looks like my best (least expensive) option would be to make a Urethane RTV mold from a pistol, and then use a plastic resin to make the "blue gun".

Has anyone made their own? Is this the strategy you used? Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Bobby

I'm no expert, so take what I'm about to say with a grain of salt.

I don't think RTV is rigid enough for you to make an accurately dimensioned plastic replica. I would think you need to use something more rigid, like a plaster, so that you have a hard mold. The RTV I'm used to using is more like a rubber, and can flex and move quite a bit. It might work, but I would think a more rigid mold would provide a more accurate replica. If you could get your hands on some polycarbonate resin, and make a plaster mold, you could probably make a very accurate replica. Polycarbonate is very hard at room temp. It melts at about 500ºF. Melt the resin in a pot and pour into the mold.

Hi Cleveland- I remember a thread about this topic some time ago. There are companies that have products specifically for making molds, etc. with silicone and other resins. Websites like Smooth-on and Alumilite have kits and how-to videos for different products and mold making techniques.

I considered doing the same thing. There are two concerns I have about making a dummy gun though- first is keeping the mold making goo out of the small cracks and crevices of the gun (like around the cylinder of a revolver, or where the trigger enters the frame); Which I guess could be resolved by wrapping or vacuum sealing the firearm in thin plastic, or using clay to fill in the cracks (which would require a thorough cleaning afterwards to get all the clay out).