iLoveLeather

Newbie Question - Swivel Knife Cut Line Peeling?

Hello all, I'm a complete newbie in leatherworking living in Hong Kong. This is probably a very stupid question for most of you but why do we need to cut the leather with the swivel knife before the beveling and all the stamping? I've attached a close-up picture of some random practice I've done on a scrape piece of leather and I'm puzzled by the leather peeling at the cut line. Without the swivel knife cutting I don't see this problem. Am I doing something very wrong? Not casing the leather right? Not cutting to the right depth? Incorrect usage of the beveler? Or something else?

By *peeling* I think you are meaning the fact that you can see the bottom of your swivel cut in a couple places - just need to get that beveller in closer to the cut. I usually start with a smooth beveller before my checkered beveller - the smooth one seems to run down into the cut better where my checkered one takes a grab. Once I've got the edge defined I can get the checkered one in nice and tight - hope this makes sense??

McJeep sounds like he's got the main problem covered. You just really need to make sure you're holding that beveler against the back of your cut line. Don't be afraid to make multiple passes either. The other problem I've had at times is getting my cuts too deep to the point where it just ends up looking like that in the end, so watch your cut depth as well. Like everything it just takes a lot of practice.

As to "why", without the cut you're just compressing the leather which will allow it to return to its natural state down the road. If you cut the line first, you're physically altering the leather in a way that it could never return from, which will make your tooling last a lot longer. Also, cutting the line just makes it that much more defined which will really make your art work stand out.

Thanks guys! Now it all makes sense!