chadnorth

What Type Of Clear Finish?

I made this bracelet and dyed it using Eco Flo Java Brown along with Coal Black. I went to use the Leather Balm Atom wax to finish it and some of the dye started to smear as I was brushing it. Luckily I was able to clean it up, still came out nice. I'm wondering if I didn't let it dry long or is it because of the finish? This is all from Tandy's Leather Supplies. Sould I have use Eco Flo Finish for Eco Flo Dyes? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Chad

post-36372-0-36180500-1352757648_thumb.j

Use resolene or mop n glo, either one cut by 50% water. Or that's what I use on all my things, painted, dyed, stained, antiqued..... If you are going to antique, put the finish on first, then after it's dry the antique. Since the antique is thick I make sure it's really dry and then put a second coat of finish. It's best to do these finishes in light coats and repeat....but they don't take a long time to dry.

I have no experience with wax so don't know which thing caused you stains to run. Maybe they weren't dry enough or maybe the wax, I really don't know. I don't use wax. Cheryl

More than likely they weren't completely dry. I normally let any dye (Eco-Flo, Fiebings, or Angelus) dry for several hours, overnight if I can.

Chief

ok thanks! Yeah the dry time was about one hour...so that's probably why it did that...