ToddB 68

Should I Seal Vinegaroon On The Edges ?

Greeting !

I have some well-aged coal-black vinegaroon that I'm planning to use for dyeing the edges of my tool sheath made of 12oz. veg-tanned cow hide.

After dyeing, I plan to let it dry well, then burnish with a bone folder.

As with any dye, I assume it's a good idea to go over vinegaroon dye with a sealer before final buffing.

I have Beeswax, Paraffin wax and a bottle of Gum Tragacanth, but which one would be best for sealing Vinegaroon and producing a nice glossy appearance ?

Your opinions are welcomed !

Thanks,

ToddB68

Hey Todd,

I am NOT a Vingaroon pro by any means, but I have used it. I stopped because I could never get the smell out.

But... My Roon was never coal black. My 1st batch was a rusty color and my second batch was rusty as well, but not as dark. Both dyed well.

I always used Resolene diluted 50/50 with water for my finish coat. But I actually used the Roon for dying the whole piece... not as an edge dye.

Once think I would be careful of is the wicking effect of the leather. I'd experiment with it fist to make sure it's not going to oak in further than the edges.

Hi TomG ! :)

I assume the smell you refer to is a vinegar smell. Since your Roon wasn't black that would mean there was still a lot of vinegar left in the mix.

My Roon is over 3 years old and has no vinegar smell. I can't place the smell accurately, except to say it is pungent (like when a car burns rubber) ,with a hint of sweetness and an overtone of caramel.

Thanks for the caution about the wicking effect of leather. Actually, I thought about that and am planning to do some experimenting before dyeing the edges of my tool sheath.

My applicator is one I made (see attached photo.). The tip is felt, cut on angle, so this should give me a little more edge control than a small wool dauber. Another help would be to minimize the amount of dye applied to the felt tip.

Thanks again for your reply.

ToddB68