Diggidy

Picking Up Leather Working -- Some Advice Please

Hello all,

Thanks for checking out my post! Like the title says I am looking to get into leather crafting and was hoping I could get some good advice from those much more knowledgable than me. I would like to start out by making some wallets, belts, maybe a knife holster... small things like that. Ultimately I would like to move up to making bags, for myself and as gifts for friends and family.

First, what tools should I invest in? I am a medical student with student loan debt so I don't have a ton of money to spend, but between gifts and some of my own money I was hoping to gather a quality set of tools that won't limit what I will eventually be able to make.

Second, do you recommend any books I read over to learn about the basics and then bag making? The process of creating patterns seems daunting to me and I'm curious how people take an idea in their head and transfer that ultimately to a well made bag/briefcase.

I will say that I am not an impulsive person and I have given a lot of thought about this as a hobby. I think it will be a great outlet to relieve stress over the next decade going through school.

Thanks for your advice and time!

Edited by Diggidy