Sign in to follow this  
snowgoose

Starting To Stitch

Ok, so I'd like to try my hand at stitching some leather.

I've been looking online and such and think I'd like to try a simple knife sheath to start.

Now, just wondering if these tools are worth the money or whether anything else can be used instead ?

1) Sewing Awl ( the one with the bobbin built in and pushes the thread though for overlocking ( I think )

2 ) Stitching Pony ( they seem pretty pricey for what they are, and as I'm only starting, is one really needed? )

3) Stitch spacing wheel ( the little wheel you roll along the leather to get even spaces between stitches )

4) Stitching groover.

Now, as I said, I'm only starting out with sewing, but I'd like to end up with half professional"ish" looking end products.

Can anyone advise on the above please?

Sewing all: This tool is pretty much worthless. You will have far superior quality if you use two needles.

Stitching pony: You can start without one. It can be easier to use one but most people do without. I have one and rarely use it.

Spacer wheel: You either need this tool of something to set your distance. A fork works well, you likely already have one of those. You can also use a divider.

Stitching grover: I rarely use one. I like the stitches sitting on the top, I feel it looks better.

Aaron

Thanks for the reply Aaron.

I saw a video of the stitching awl in work and it looks much easier than other methods. With two needles, would I just work in the same way? ( i.e. stab through front side and create a loop at the back and thread the second thread through the loop, pulling the needle back out after, and continue this way?