Sign in to follow this  
ZenPaigeOCN

Newbie Here

Hello Everyone. I am new to leatherworking. I know nothing except that I love leather. I see all the beautiful things many of you have created and I think "Ooooo I wanna know how to do that!" Then I think "Hmmm....probably isnt as simple as it looks".

I currently have a lot of time on my hands and will have even MORE when winter sets in. I am hoping to stock up on projects during the rest of the summer and early fall so I'll be ready once the snow comes and possibly interfere with the mail. Then hopefully be able to sell them off to fund another set of projects.

Comments, suggestions and advice welcome.

Hello Everyone. I am new to leatherworking. I know nothing except that I love leather. I see all the beautiful things many of you have created and I think "Ooooo I wanna know how to do that!" Then I think "Hmmm....probably isnt as simple as it looks".

I currently have a lot of time on my hands and will have even MORE when winter sets in. I am hoping to stock up on projects during the rest of the summer and early fall so I'll be ready once the snow comes and possibly interfere with the mail. Then hopefully be able to sell them off to fund another set of projects.

Hi there. Welcome to LW. So the leatherbug has bitten, eh? Welcome to the crowd! :) Do you have any ideas what types of things you are interested in making, ie: bags, wallets, belts, horse tack, etc.? Do you want to learn how to carve and tool? Use exotic leathers?

Tandy leather sells leatherwork kits which might be a good way to start, and find the types of things you like to do? Otherwise, you'll find everyone here to be helpful if you have particular questions.

I envy you having a lot of time on your hands. Tomorrow I start my summer job, and I work 70-80 hours per week. Beginning tomorrow, there will be no time or energy for leatherwork till after Labor Day for me :bawling: