Sign in to follow this  
dragonworks

Tooling Help?

i'm new to leather working and i have done some things and i always have a section in many little spots that when i bevel the edges a small portion of the cut line is pulled away and you can visibly see it! does anyone know why? also how can i stop it? i appreciate any and all feed back on this. thank you justin

Do you have a picture of this ?

This book will be of great help to you. "Craft Tool Tech Tips" by Al Stolhman.

i'm new to leather working and i have done some things and i always have a section in many little spots that when i bevel the edges a small portion of the cut line is pulled away and you can visibly see it! does anyone know why? also how can i stop it? i appreciate any and all feed back on this. thank you justin

You are probably not cutting deep enough and beveling too hard. Try cutting deeper and beveling as deep as the cut.

pete

thanks pete, i will try it,

You are probably not cutting deep enough and beveling too hard. Try cutting deeper and beveling as deep as the cut.

pete

you were absolutely right pete, my stuff looks better already, thank you somuch man.

you were absolutely right pete, my stuff looks better already, thank you somuch man.

Pete's on to it I believe, what you're seeing is likely that (not cutting deep enough/tooling deeper than the cut) and/or it could be that you're tooling on the cut line versus up to it. When you bevel in the cut, the heel of the tool separates the tooled area, pulling it away from the cut. If you work on tooling "to the line", meaning your tool is a hair behind the cut line it will depress the tooling like normal and the fraction of leather at the tip of the beveler will just barely fill in the line making it look very smooth and thin. Tooling 'to the line' takes quite a bit of practice but once you get it the difference is noticeable.