nGIN40

Need Help With This Belt

Hello all I am new to the leather craft world. I have been reading this forum for a few weeks and have learned so much already. I thank you all for that but here is my question. I want to make a Radio strap for myself like the one I have pictured. I have read so many tips on dyes, stains,paints etc. My question is I'm not sure what type of leather I should go with? Should I buy pre-cut black latigo straps? should I get pre-cut herman oak straps? The strap will be exposed to heat and water I'm just not sure whats best any help would be apprecited thanks in advance.post-38294-0-87348800-1359321997_thumb.j

Are you going to stamp/tool it? You'll probably want to stick to Veg-Tan for tooling and then make sure you use a good water resistant finish topped off with a good conditioner. You can get some good Herman Oak and you'll be happy with the leather. Springfield Leather will cut out just what you need if you give them a call. Since you're learning (I'm assuming), I would get a couple and maybe a bag of scraps to practice on while you're at it. The girls there will get you setup right. Just tell them what you're trying to do and they'll make sure you have what you need to get it going. If you don't want to tool it, some latigo might be the way to go. I'm not real experienced with it, but I'm pretty sure I read that it resists water.

Hi,

If you want to stamp words like in the photo you posted, you'll want to go with Hermann Oak leather, or any vegetable tanned leather. You'll want to read up on how to case and stamp, and buy a set of letter stamps. There are a few things you can do with the leather to protect it from heat and water, as long as you're not submersing it or roasting it over the fire.

Someone on the forum recently posted a video about a waterproofing agent involving wax and turpentine(?) and something else. I haven't tried it, although it looks like it would do wonders to protect against water.