Hi guys,newbie here! I know there's a few posts about this kind of stuff,but can't seem to find the info I'm looking for specifically,so any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Sooo,here goes.....

(1) Is there REALLY any difference between "leather" paints,and acrylics(say,FolkArt)?

(2) Can one/does one condition/oil leather anywhere in the process? If so,before or after painting?

(3) Is there a REALLY GOOD sealer available? I'd prefer satin finish rather than stark high-gloss,but....

Thanks so much in advance for any help and I would love any other info/knowledge you might have about the whole painting/finishing thing!!! :notworthy:

Hello Country, and welcome to the forum!

I'm not an expert in this area, particularly when it comes to horse tack. However, I do have experience with painting things other than leather plus some experience using acrylics on leather. You will find much better recommendations from members here like Spinner who does a lot of work with acrylic on leather for bike gear, which also needs weather resistance. Try looking through his posts because his knowledge will be better than mine.

When it comes to acylics, there are differences in quality that might affect how well they work with leather. I haven't used FolkArt myself, but I have used Liquitex for both leather and non-leather things and I find them OK. I know there are better higher end products out there though. I usually oil projects before doing any coloring or finishing, so I will oil with neatsfoot and allow it to dry overnight (24-48 hours preferred) before trying anything like painting.