Sign in to follow this  
TRICKYRAC

Cutting Out Patterns

I am new to leather working and have a done a few small projects for myself and have pretty much figured out most of the basics. Now I need some advice to clean up the rough edges on my work.

My main question is, what is the best way/tool to use to cut my patterns out? Right now I am using a utility knife that the bends and cuts my leather at an angle when I cut around corners. I want to learn how to cut a pattern and have smooth round corners and have the whole thing smooth and straight when I get done.

Any help and advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I am new to leather working and have a done a few small projects for myself and have pretty much figured out most of the basics. Now I need some advice to clean up the rough edges on my work.

My main question is, what is the best way/tool to use to cut my patterns out? Right now I am using a utility knife that the bends and cuts my leather at an angle when I cut around corners. I want to learn how to cut a pattern and have smooth round corners and have the whole thing smooth and straight when I get done.

Thanks in advance.

Are you certain that your utilty knife blade is bending? If so, you are either applying way too much pressure down, or you need to buy a better knife, and, or better blades. It may be that when you are cutting around corners

you are actually leaning your knife away from the leathers edge, afraid of cutting off of the scribed line. Most beginners do this. You have to keep the blade of whatever knife you use, at a 90 degree angle to the cutting surface all of the time. Practice and being cognizant of your cuttting angle will be the best teacher. Hope it helps.