paprhangr

What To Do With The Flesh Side Of Belts?

I'm a beginner, I'm making belts for gifts, I don,t like the looks of unfinished flesh side showing. Should I stain and super shean?

Edited by paprhangr

You can slick it down, there's many methods out there to accomplish this. I normally will use some gum trag and a bone folder and slick it down. I think you can use saddle soap and I've even done it with resolene when I'm feeling kinda lazy. I also start with good leather that doesn't have a very nappy flesh.

Hey Billy, it's me Dave from the kaw Bobber forum, its been a long time how's the leather business?

I started playing with leather some. Do you ever stain the back same as the front so no light

Color shows up?

Hey Dave, how's it going? Business is good, I've been full timing it for about a year and have a shop with a retail space in front.

On single layer belts I do dye the front and back together, on my double later gun belts I only dye the front piece and leave the back natural, it is smooth on both sides, I like the look and it prevents any dye rubbing off onto pants.

I use Fiebings professional oil dye and get very little to no dye rubbing off but its still a nice looking touch.