Randy Cornelius

Ankle Hoster Pattern and tutoral

Someone asked about an ankle holster. I have one design that I have been making for several years that seems to go over very well in the Law Enforcement and Conceled Carry communities. So I thought I would try to show everyone how I make one. I used to make them out of neopreme but my supplier for the kind with a cloth front and back is not able to get that anymore so I have taken to using chap leather. So to get started here is a list of materials needed.

1 pc of 5 oz chap leather about 5- 1/2 X 15 inches

1 pc wool sheepskin scrap about 4-1/2 X 5-1/2 inches

2 pc of 2" x 4" Velcro Loop side

1 pc of 2" X 4" velcro hook side

1 holster designed to fit your weapon system of choise.

The first 3 photos are of my old hoster that I carry amost every day. The other two is the pattern for the wrap around piece. I am not sure how to do this to get the words under the right picture as I go but I hope Johanna will see what I am trying to do and fix it.

Next I lay out the chap leather after cutting and attach the 2 pieces of loop velcro on the top side at one end. Then attach the hook velcro on the botton side at the other end, this way when you wrap it around your ankle it will over lap and attach to each other. Sew the velcro and the sheepskin on. See photos

Next lay your holster in the area of the sheepskin and adjust it to the proper draw angle and sew it in place laying open, Next , this is a good time to install one side of the snap. There is one other option I have done before that needs to be done now. If the customer wants a garder strap to go up over the calf of the leg to help hold the holster up higher on the ankle you can install a 3/4 square in the area of the snap to attach the garder system, I make those out of 2" wide elastic and velcro also. Then fold over and sew the holster and finish the retention flap and finish installing other half of the snap.