ccrbum

New To The Forum And New To Leather!

Well I guess I should give a little information on myself and my interest in getting into leatherwork. I'm a full-time firefighter-EMT and have been looking for a hobby to get into that I can enjoy, my kids can participate in and that I can always make a couple dollars on the side to help support it! I've recently come across leatherworking and looking at what all you can do with it as well as the true nature of the craft that goes into it and I'm completely sold! Being in the fire industry we love our leather! I'm also a firearms enthusiast and love the idea of being able to make some holsters. My primary interest is being able to make holsters and fire gear such as radio straps, glove holders and suspenders. Custom made gear is a huge deal to be able to give to someone as a gift. As far as what tools I need to start doing this I'm not completely sure. The wife has given her blessing for me to spend some money to get going in it and from what I understand, I'm looking at a couple hundred dollars for getting set up. Any chance some of you could help me out as far as basic and intermediate lists for making holsters? Also how is tandy as far as tooling? I understand people have some issues with their leather but I've not looked too much into their quality of tools. I've got one about 40 minutes away so it would be nice to be able to run up there and get stuff. Thanks for the input and! I'm really looking forward to what all I can learn on here and start to develop some skills in the area. Thanks guys!