Sign in to follow this  
Nod4Eight

First Attempt At Making Rawhide

Hi all -

So I finally got one of those goat hides to work with. It's my first attempt and I feel like I'm starting in a bit of a hole. I'm not complaining since I got the hide for free, but man is it dirty! The guys dog drug it thru the dirt, supposedly didn't chew on it though. It was wadded in a ball and put in the freezer. That's how I got it and its been sitting in my freezer for a week or so and the weather finally might cooperate with me.

So here's the plan so far. I put it in a large tub and its soaking now. I'm thinking its gonna take several baths to get this thing clean.

Once its clean I'm going to give it a good once (or twice) over on the flesh side with a draw knife to clean that up. Then back into a lime bath. Then de-hair it and rinse it off good again. Then a short rinsing bath with a very small amount of vinegar to bring the pH back to around normal. Then into the frame I made out of 2x4s to dry in the barn so it's sheltered from all the rain we've been having.

Cut it out of the frame and slice into ~1 inch strap spiraled all the way around. Then stretch... split... cut into laces for whatever project I decide to do with it (haven't thought that far ahead).

A few questions - Is this thing salvagable? Has anyone worked with and recovered something this dirty? I'm mainly interested in learning this process - so if I don't turn out with braidable material I won't be too disappointed, but it would be nice to be able to use it. How does my plan look? Am I missing steps? Am I doing something I needn't do? I'll try to keep this updated as it comes along.

I have been reading through old threads and you all have indirectly helped me out a bunch so far - thanks!!

post-19573-003306600 1302229187_thumb.jp