Sign in to follow this  
TXJhawk

Newbie Questions

I have been looking for a while and found many answers already. Now is time to post a few questions of my own. Im new to leather working and learning much by trial an error (lots of errors). I'm now making primarily holsters and belts for guys at work. So far pretty pleased with my results but now that I am going to charge for some of my items I am expecting more out of myself. I'm getting ready to place an order from Hearman Oak and I'm excited to work with something other than Tandy products. Also just purchased a Boss and I will have it in two weeks. So my questions are as follows.

1. What weight should I order from Herman Oak?

2. Im expecting to get 8-9 oz and if that is the case should I line my belts with two layers of heavy weight or line with a lower weight?

3. What is the best way to finish without having dye come off on your clothes. I have tried Resoline but not too crazy about the high gloss. Also tried he Tan coat but still getting some bleeding from the belt.

4. Should I apply conditioner before or after the sealer?

Thanks in advance and I'm sure I will have more to follow.

I have been looking for a while and found many answers already. Now is time to post a few questions of my own. Im new to leather working and learning much by trial an error (lots of errors). I'm now making primarily holsters and belts for guys at work. So far pretty pleased with my results but now that I am going to charge for some of my items I am expecting more out of myself. I'm getting ready to place an order from Hearman Oak and I'm excited to work with something other than Tandy products. Also just purchased a Boss and I will have it in two weeks. So my questions are as follows.

1. What weight should I order from Herman Oak?

2. Im expecting to get 8-9 oz and if that is the case should I line my belts with two layers of heavy weight or line with a lower weight?