esantoro

cleaning brass hardware

Does anyone have a surefire method for cleaning brass that has become tarnished? I've got some brass hardware that had been lying underneath some latigo and has become prematurely tarnished, perhaps due to the oils in the leather.

Thanks,

Ed

i use flitz.

ive also used Brasso at one time. there are others too.

Brasso, standard for military brass when I was in, a real pita lots of rubbing, I think it was psych warfare used to break a new recruit and get a good laugh.

Brasso, standard for military brass when I was in, a real pita lots of rubbing, I think it was psych warfare used to break a new recruit and get a good laugh.

Meh. It's not that big a deal once you get the lacquer off. I had to rub the feathers off an eagle on my hat brass when I was a freshman in military college.

I like 'Never Dull' Less messy than most brass cleaners and doesn't leave a residue in the recesses

Thanks for the responses. I'll try the Never Dull. I like when brass tarnishes in a normal way, oxidation, but due this brass being underneath some leather for some time, the tarnish on it is not an elegant time-worn tarnish. It's just black.

Ed

Wenell & Friltz is the same thing, both are very good.

Brasso, all it is is bleach, it takes the color out but doesn't actual take the oils off the brass, that's why it is quick, but tarnish comes back rather fast.

After you polish real well, wax it with a carnauba car wax. This will keep the moisture from the air & oils from your hands off it for aprox a year.

This is a quote I use to have printed on my busniness cards when I had a brass shop, it works!

Kathy

I use a dremel with one of those felt wheels and some metal polish or rouge. If it's really nasty you can start with a Scotchbrite pad to get the rough stuff off. They also make wheels and such with Scotchbrite material for a dremel or drill.