The last holster I made is rubbing dye off onto the gun. I've coated the inside with Resolene and it got a little better but it's still rubbing color on to the top edges of the slide, the front edges of the dust cover and the trigger guard. I'm wondering if it's because I didn't really form the backside since that's the side of the gun where most of the color transfer is taking place (I wanted to keep it relatively flat on the back).

None of the other holsters I've made have done this and I'm curious if anybody else has had this problem and how they fixed it. I'm thinking of making another one and not dying it or at least not dying the inside.

The gun is a 1911 Bobtail Commander if it matters for this discussion.

Thanks,

Bronson

I don't have an answer for you, since I am pretty new at this, but it might help the others if they knew what kind of dye you used.

Waht kind of dye are you using, I went to using oil dye and it seems to help. I now order most of my black already drum dyed from the tannery. The drum dye process helps a lot on keeping the color from rubbing off.

Randy

I use Angelus spirit (alcohol) dyes exclusively now and it penetrate into the leather so it does not rub off. I rub the inside of my holsters down with Gum, then coat with Resolene and no problems so far. When I used to use Eco-Flo water-based dyes it would rub off on both sides so I changed it.

The last holster I made is rubbing dye off onto the gun. I've coated the inside with Resolene and it got a little better but it's still rubbing color on to the top edges of the slide, the front edges of the dust cover and the trigger guard. I'm wondering if it's because I didn't really form the backside since that's the side of the gun where most of the color transfer is taking place (I wanted to keep it relatively flat on the back).