Mikgoo

Edge Beveler Sharpening / Honing

Are there any tricks or tips to sharpening or honing an edge beveler?

I am new to leather tools and thought I would ask the pro's before I

ruin a good tool by doing it wrong !

Thanks,

Mike G.

In the pinned topics in this forum is one that says making a strop. Art did a tutorial on making a strop board specificaly for edge bevelers. He used horse hide, I made mine with veg tanned and it works fine. http://leatherworker.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=36221

Also here is a you tube video of using the Weaver strop board for edge bevelers. similar to the one art did.

Tandy also has a free video showing how to care for edge bevelers and shows how to make a similar strop board. http://www.tandyleatherfactory.com/en-usd/Use-and-Care-of-Edge-Bevelers.aspx

Edited by camano ridge

I am in the middle of doing a tutorial on edge beveler sharpening now. It is one of the most common questions I get. In a nutshell until I get the sketches done, here's the abridged version.

Abrasives - Use very fine stones or fine wet-dry. More damage is done by using a heavier grit than necessary and then trying to work that out. Most edgers just need a touch up first and then a good stropping. If you start too coarse you might end with a more ragged edge than you started with. By the time you have worked that out with progressively finer grits you have wasted time and metal. 600something to 800 wet-dry is about where I start on most edgers. work up a grit or two and get to a nice even pretty smooth edge. Once I get to a strop, I use green compound. It will remove some metal maybe, but if I work it right I get the best edges.