Leila

What Machine For Dual Duties?

Hello, I am a seamstress with many years under my belt in garment sewing. But I'm new to leather, and I am in need of an industrial machine that is good with medium weight smooth finish lamb, elk, and calf leathers for handbags. But that I can also sew a medium weight cotton or even satin on with just switching out foot, needle, and thread. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Perhaps a needle feed industrial machine, equipped with an accessory roller foot, will do the soft leather work. Then, switch back to a standard steel foot for the satin and broadcloth.

A walking foot machine will eat up the satin and light fabrics. A straight stitch machine will not feed the leather properly, unless it is converted into a roller foot system machine.

A needle feed machine keeps the layers together as the needle pulls the material for each stitch. These machines must have a presser foot with a long slot down the middle, to allow the needle to move forward and backward.

Juki makes great needle feed machines.

Wow thanks for the quick response! And for the helpful info! I only need the machine to handle up to 4 thickness's of the soft leather, and I would imagine that wouldn't be a problem. *Also what gage thread do you reccomend for such leathers?

And when buying needles for the needle feed machines, is it similar to the home? As in would I just look for a medium gage leather needle? Thanks so much! I really appreciate all your knowledge on such a vast subject!

Wow thanks for the quick response! And for the helpful info! I only need the machine to handle up to 4 thickness's of the soft leather, and I would imagine that wouldn't be a problem. *Also what gage thread do you reccomend for such leathers?

And when buying needles for the needle feed machines, is it similar to the home? As in would I just look for a medium gage leather needle? Thanks so much! I really appreciate all your knowledge on such a vast subject!