dBA

Shopping list for first-time holstermaker

Hi everyone,

I found this forum last night, and am really impressed by the quality of work I've seen so far.

I've decided to try my hand at holstermaking, and am looking for some advice. I have no leatherworking experience (or tools), but after reading several of these posts, I've put together a shopping list of what I think I might need. These items are all from the Springfield leather website:

CODE DESCRIPTION PRICE

111-807400 Groover,Stitching,Adjustable $10.00

111-8807411 Groover,Freehand $12.00

111-809100 Overstitcher,Set,Sz 5,6,7 $16.00

7-1 Punch Set,5 Pc $6.99

130-119500 Needle,EZ Thread,10pk $1.99

144-120552 Thread,Wax,PureWht,Heavy,50y $3.00

144-122002 Thread,Wax,Poly,Brown,4oz $10.00

26-201400 Wax,Beeswax,1oz $2.69

34-01 Gum Tragacanth,4oz $4.29

34-210007 Dye,Fieb.Reg,Cordovan,4oz $4.99

95-201702 Cement,Contact,Masters,8oz $8.99

I am going to try working with Herman Oak 8oz leather, and buy only a few square-feet to get started, unless someone has a better idea.

I added two different types of thread - which would be better to use? Also, I know I need some kind of finish so I'm open to suggestions.

Am I missing anything else?

I appreciate any feedback you can offer.

Thanks,

Curtis

I would add a awl and blade, snaps and setter if you plan to use snaps, round knife, straight knife, edgers, something to burnish with, dummy guns unless your rich enough to own all of the guns for the styles you plan to make, cutting board, poster board or file folders for patterns and some more things i am sure i forgot.