Gill3041

Hello From Leeds, Uk

I've just joined this site and am looking forward to reading all the forum posts and learning plenty! I have been working with leather for around 7 years and mostly make bags using traditional saddle stitching method. Hopefully I'll be able to contribute to questions although I do consider myself to be an amateur rather than a pro leather worker!

Gill

post-61006-0-58740800-1427035117_thumb.j

post-61006-0-49374800-1427035134_thumb.j

Hello Gill and welcome to the forum!

Hello Gill, i am not too far awy from you in Huddersfield, i wish you had a picture of the first lighter brown bag opened up so i could see the inside pocket, i made a similar bag for my wife but she now wants another bag making with an inside pocket like yours, would love to see how you attatched it.

Hi Jazzman! I will find another pic of the bag and post it for you. It's attached to the front of the bag in the style of a traditional satchel - I sew the gusset onto the pocket front and then sew that gusset onto th front panel of the bag. Hope that makes sense!

Do you sell at any fairs in Yorkshire?

Gill

No Gill, i am not up to that standard yet, only been leathering for a few months, i have just put some pics up in the gallery for the first time if you want to see my work. Can you recommend some good craft fairs to visit.

Also Gill, if you fancy a good chat about leatherwork, i have been going on chat near to midnight lately, leatherwytch and double c and squrelly have been on at that time and we have a good old chat and a laugh, you should join us if you want.

Hi again - just looked at your work and it's great! Really nice stitching and designs. I have had a break from selling at fairs for about 4 years - when the recession hit people just didn't have the money to spend on my stuff anymore, so I gave it up. But I'm thinking of trying it out again later this year once I've built some stock up again. How did you get into leather work?