thekid77

Overstitch Wheel Question..

Hi everybody,

I'm very new to leatherworking, and to this forum, and have a question about using the overstitch wheel...

In Stohlman's handstitching book, when using the overstitch wheel, he recommends beginning by starting in the corner of the bottom channel, and wheeling across the bottom (please see attached picture with areas indicated in red)...

My question is, how can you guarantee that the overstitch wheel will finish with a dot impression that is exactly in the opposite corner that you started from no matter what circumference of leather you are stitching together?

post-35282-0-46520100-1349173119_thumb.p

Thank you all for your time and expertise :)

Edited by thekid77

Hello,

Being first post and all, but here goes.

My question is, how can you guarantee that the overstitch wheel will finish with a dot impression that is exactly in the opposite corner that you started from no matter what circumference of leather you are stitching together?

You do so by using the right size wheel for the piece that you're in the process of marking up. In that way, you'll be sure to end up with a corner dot. What I do is that i take a piece of scrap leather, measure out the length of the original that needs to be marked, and then run an fitting size overstiching wheel over it that I think might fit the stitching I want on the original. I'm too new to this, but that's how I do it till I have gotten used to what stitching length goes to what leather thickness and so on.

Hope it helps.

C

You can start in each corner when it's critical and meet in the middle if you want, adjust the spacing when you use the awl, the wheel is just a guide and any unwanted mark won't be visible under the stitching.

Here's another question about this pesky tool:

How do you get the marks from the wheel to be even across two pieces of leather?