asbandr

How To Get A High Gloss Smooth Finish

I've been making holsters for a few months and am happy with the finished look, but I was wondering how to give them that high gloss smooth finish. After assembling and dying I buff them and apply super shene but can never seem to get more than an eggshell like finish. What am I doing wrong?

We aint got no pictures, so toughta tell. The oil dyes will buff up to a pretty good shine all alone, so very possibly that super sheen crap?

Sorry, I guess I should include a pic...

post-55032-0-21311200-1410049551_thumb.j

Pitch the super sheen, . . . go to Resolene, . . . mix it 50/50 with water, . . . play with it enough and you can use it for a mirror practically.

It is a far superior finish in just about every way.

May God bless,

Dwight

Make the Polish

In a glass quart canning jar, add 1 cup of oil (vegetable, coconut, olive, etc.) and add about 1/2 cup of beeswax--preferably grated or crumbled. Place the jar in a double pan of hot water over low heat and allow it to warm until the paraffin has melted. Remove the jar from the hot water and add 1/2 cup of vodka. Stir well and cover until ready to use.

Apply the Polish

Apply a dab of the soft polish to the floor with a clean, dry rag. Start with about 1/2 tsp. for a 2-foot-square area, and rub in a circular motion to spread the wax. Allow the wax to set for a few minutes before buffing it with a separate clean rag to bring it to a nice shine.

Read more : http://www.ehow.com/way_5397378_homemade-floor-polish.html

:)