bobby guns

How Do I Dye A Baseball Glove?

Hi.

First post.

This would probably be an easy project for most of you, but it's my first time working with leather.

I want to dye a baseball glove black and have a few questions.

The glove is used and in need of conditioning. (I wasn't going to use a lanolin-based glove conditioner).

- Should I condition the glove first, or wait until after the dye job is complete?

-Is Fiebing's dye the way to go? How many coats will likely be necessary to make tan leather black?

-Do I need to seal the dye afterwards? I don't want the glove to look like it's been shellacked, but would seal it if necessary.

Finally, is it possible to dye white stitching and embroidery? I take it the stitching is synthetic and doesn't respond to leather dye. Is there something else I can use?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Two words, Bobby: Good Luck,...........

Actually, I said that with a smile, . . . because your project is not that hard, . . . and can be done.

You will want to clean the glove first, . . . get the dirt, trash, oil, grease, wax, . . . all that stuff off it.

Good old cheap rubbing alcohol will do that, . . . put it on a wash cloth, . . . rub the glove, . . . but since you are going black, . . . just get the dirt, . . . don't get all deeply involved in this part of the task.

Next, . . . let it dry, . . . at least one full 24 hour period, . . . maybe in front of a fan, . . . but no extra heat.

Buy Feibings pro oil dye, . . . and a package of their large wool daubers, . . . looks like a little wooly pom-pom.

Mix the dye with Feibings thinner, . . . 2 thinner to 1 dye should work, . . . and start daubing it all on.

Unlace your fingers, . . . and the pocket, . . . also the cuff, . . . dip the lace, pocket, etc. into a little pan full of the dye.

Just keep going over it, . . . first few times it will look like a muddy zebra, . . . but it will come around after several coats on each area.