iamasmith

Alternatives To Tracing For Transferring Pattterns?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this but I feel that I'm getting happier with the results when it comes to cutting in with the Swivel Knife and am starting to get nice clean and smooth curves in my work.

The one thing that's really causing me problems is getting the pattern onto the leather prior to carving.

I have a nice, neat outline, which I then trace and that looks reasonably neat too, then I move onto transferring this with a stylus with the paper taped over (using lo-tac tape) the leather. I'm finding that moisture from the leather is causing bulges in the tracing paper from time to time and that invariably I find the tracing to be a fairly nasty and crude representation of what I originally drew.

I have started to compensate a little trying to work the stylus to the side of the line so that I can smooth out with the knife and hide the stylus marks in the bevel or in the background but I feel there should be a better way of transferring a design to the leather so I can start with something more accurate.

Does anybody have any other approaches to using the tracing/stylus approach? I'm guessing there must be a way of printing an image from a computer and transferring in some way but I haven't come across this yet.

Any ideas folks?, regards,

Andy

When I transfer from paper to leather, I use saran wrap or a ziploc bag between the cased leather and the pattern. It keeps the paper from absorbing any of the water. For fine detail, I have started using the rounded point of a stitching needle as the stylus.

When I transfer from paper to leather, I use saran wrap or a ziploc bag between the cased leather and the pattern. It keeps the paper from absorbing any of the water. For fine detail, I have started using the rounded point of a stitching needle as the stylus.

Cheers, that's a top tip, at least it should stop the tracing paper bulging :)