madebyrachel

Help! Tandy Leather Hand Press Setter And Line 20 Snaps Question

Hello! I'm new here.

I've been making leather accessories for a few years and finally bought myself a hand press setter after years of hammering in snaps and ruining pieces. I went with the Tandy hand press because it looked decent. I bought the dies for line 20 snaps, which I use the most.

My issue: I really want to use antique bronze and copper snaps, which Tandy doesn't make. I've found them different places, including Ohio Travel Bag (I think...it's hard to read their catalog onscreen) but I have no idea if i can use those snaps with my Tandy press. Does anyone know? Do I have to use Tandy snaps or can I use other brands?

Kinda kicking myself for investing in a $200 Tandy Press without doing this research.

Thoughts?

Am I doomed to Tandy snaps forever?

Thanks!

*Rachel

I buy snaps all over, they will work provided you have the proper dies. If you have the dies for line 20 snaps then the line 20 snaps you buy from Ohio Travel will work, same with line 24, etc. The only snaps that won't work to my knowledge are "Pull the dot snaps" because of the indent. I could be wrong but I haven't tried them with the press and can't see how they would work. Every thing else should be OK. I set snaps, rivets, all the time and I don't buy them all from Tandy.

Chief

If you have a Hobby Lobby near by, . . . go there, . . . and ask where the "sewing" things are. When you get there, . . . you are looking for the wall with the scissors, needles, thimbles, etc. and you will find two tools there, . . . both with blue handles, . . . and they are snap setting tools.

One is basically for line 24 size and the other one will do it all, . . . they look like funny shaped pliers.

Either tool is about 25 bucks, . . . I have ruined maybe 6 snaps with that tool, . . . in about 8 years of using it.