Sign in to follow this  
caedenspa

Newbie Just Can't Get It Right.

I'm new to this whole leatherworking thing, but having a blast so far. I started out just stitching some holsters for personal use, and they turned out better than I would've ever expected. So I figured I'd try my hand at tooling them.

I've been taking a "class" at my local Tandy store, and I'm pretty happy with my carving - mostly figure carving, not so much into the Sheridan type stuff (yet!). So I want to dye the pieces.

This I'm not enjoying so much. Maybe it has to do with not being able to hit things with a mallet....

I'm just experimenting with the water-based dye that came in Tandy's little intro kit. Plain brown dye, some eco-sheen or whatever they call it, and the hi-liter.

I can't seem to get the dye to actually do much of anything. It was suggested that I could vary my shades by using different amounts of water with the straight dye, so I mixed up a 2:1 batch, a 1:1 batch, and just straight. Here's the problem: when I "paint" those on to my design, I can't tell the difference in the shades. Then when I apply the highlighter at the end, everything seems to disappear except the areas where I put the straight (uncut) dye.

What am I doing wrong? Are there other dyes I should be working with? Any sort of preparation I should be doing to the leather? I'm just working with some belly scraps I had at the house. I'd prefer if any recommended products be something I can get at Tandy - the store is about 10 minutes from my house.

Thanks in advance - any help is appreciated.

Howdy there.

It's my opionion that the water base dyes are hard to change the depth of the color but what I would do is use your dye a lighter color that apply a resist several coats then apply a highlight dye you will like the control much better. In any case I use oil dye much more and it's because I have tryed the exoflow a lot find I don't like it as well.

Josh