TheBlotterOfInks24

New To Leatherworking, No Idea How To Start

Hey!

I'm new to this whole leather working idea and just wanted an idea on where in Northern Virginia (warrenton/gainesville/manassas area) i would be able to buy or order supplies to get started on a tight budget and where I might be able to learn some basics/beginnings on creating things. I want to eventually be able to create a satchel or laptop bag and maybe some pen slips or cases for my belongings

Looks like the closest Tandy to you is in Herinco VA looks like around 90 miles or so. They have some classes. You started out right by ending up here. Welcome to the forums. You will find patterns on these forums for the things you mentioned you want to make. Ones you decide on a first project we can help you out with a list of what you will need to get started. It is best to start with what you need for a first project then build from there as you identify your needs.

For buying supplies and leather, Tandy is a likely if not exactly cheap choice. I just recently got started as well and noticed early on that anything marketed for leather craft will carry a premium price. The same thing marketed for a different segment may cost much less.