Well this is my first attempt at making a holster only the second leather item I have made. Figured I would post a couple pics and let Big O, Katsass, and the rest of yall critique away. I know I need alot of work on my edges and stitching and the gun is riding to high but any other tips anyone could share would be greatly appreciated. It was supposed to be a small of the back holster but doubt it will ever get used as it ended up being a little unstable with the ride height.

post-21797-075340900 1306014174_thumb.jp

post-21797-025769500 1306014277_thumb.jp

well its kinda hard to critique because of the size of the pics but aside from what you mentioned i have to say GREAT job on a first holster i wish my first holster had come out half as well as t hat one keep up the work!!

Yeah sorry about the pics couldn't find the camera and took them on a brand new phone, didn't realize they were that huge lol

Didn't work trying to shrink the image, guess I will keep messing with it

Attempt #3

Attempt #4

post-21797-051636700 1306040119_thumb.gi

Edited by doug1221

Here's the back resized sorry about the crazy original sizes

post-21797-070618700 1306040404_thumb.gi

The craftsmanship looks pretty decent for a first try. Stitch line is impressively close around the trigger guard.

Not sure what you're using to make the holes. Diamond punch?

Leather looks like it might be a little thin for the main body, and the dye looks splotchy. Eco-Flo?

The biggest problem I see is the design concept itself. Looks like you EXECUTED your concept very well, but it's the design part that has a fatal (LITERALLY) flaw.

You've made a small of the back "cavalry draw" holster. About six inches into the draw sequence, you'll be taking aim at your right kidney. Try flipping it 180 degrees longitudinally, so that the butt of the pistol is up, not down. It's nearly as concealable, and both easier to grasp and safer to draw.